Hi, Folks!

By folks, I mean “me.”  At this point in the blog’s history I can still enjoy the anonymity of having no readers.  That means I get to gab on and on and postulate this and that.  That assumes I have something interesting to say, however, and I don’t think I have tonight. I’ll make a go of it anyway.

Peter O’Toole passed away today.  He lived to be 81, and from what I can tell he spent his life well.  I remember being young, maybe six years old, maybe five, and listening to Peter sing his parts on my mom’s “Man of La Mancha” album again and again till I wore the record out.  Often, I would do this as I drew and re-drew the album cover, featuring O’Toole in rusty armor.  Later, in my teens, I saw whatever cut of “Lawrence of Arabia” was available for rent, and I knew that I was seeing something heavier than I could yet comprehend.  By the time I saw “My Favorite Year” Peter O’Toole was installed in my imagination as a giant among actors. I don’t want to overplay it, though–he was part of my life, but he was part of everyone’s lives in way.  When I saw him play Henry II in “Becket” and more importantly in “The Lion in Winter,” I knew he was one of the all-time greats.  I can’t forget “Masada” either, so it gets honorable mention. So, rest in peace, Peter O’Toole.

Lately, my key words have been prosperity, abundance, and health.  We live in a world of abundance, and there is enough for everyone.  For me, prosperity means making enough wealth to be able to devote my time to what I love, namely art and writing. Heallth should be self-evident.

Be cool, everyone (i.e. me).  Scott.

 

 

Leave a comment